Members of Staff - 1929
List of all 203 members of the Bank's staff
as at December 1st 1929
(As detailed in the minutes of the Bank's Finance Sub-Committee)
 Head Office
 Branch Managers (see NOTE below)
 Clerks-in-Charge of Branches (see NOTE below)
 Head Office Cashiers
 Branch Cashiers
 Assistant Branch Cashiers
 Officers-in-Charge of Evening Branches
 Evening Branch Assistant
 General Clerks
 Bournville Works
 Other Head Office
 Bournville Works
Numbers of Staff
Head Office (13)
 J P Hilton  General Manager
 F Ellison  Assistant General Manager
 A S Taylor  Controller
 F W Parsonage  Controller
 H Carver  Controller
 H G Wright  Controller
 A F Lambeth  Inspector
 D W S Woodcock  Inspector
 S E Bennett  Inspector
 J E Chapman  Inspector
 E Cheatle  Inspector
 W Buxton  Secretary
 N G Yardley  Accountant 
Branch Managers (5)
 F Fitzpatrick
 A T Guest
 J W Raftery
 H J Sutherland
 F H Whitehouse
Clerks-in-Charge of Branches (32)
 J Baker
 J C W Brown
 E J Cope
 C Danks
 H B Davis
 F H DeVille
 J A Duff
 R H Earp
 W L Hannah
 G A Harling
 J Hastie
 A M Hodgkins
 G H Humphries
 L H Hurdman
 W James
 T J Ladbrooke
 G F Lewis
 A N Ling
 J Manners
 H E Martin
 E C Neighbour
 R T Piper
 E Price
 A H Read
 H R B Rees
 W K Robottom
 LE Smallwood
 A J Smith
 R H Tafft
 W J R Tooby
 E H Viney
 L A Wright
Head Office Cashiers (12)
 C L Abbiss
 M Aspinall (Miss)
 H J T Bayliss
 S G Brotherton
 R M Brown (Miss)
 B M Buckley (Mrs)
 M Crawford (Miss)
 S A Guy
 C E Harper
 S F Jones
 C H Massey
 W J Woollons
Branch Cashiers (39)
 C P Addis
 W C Baker
 G L Boden
 W Brown
 W A Camwell
 P J Condon
 H G Corles
 G T Edwards
 H E M Forman
 E J Grant
 B P Hayward
 F W Hearne
 M Hilton (Miss)
 J Holmes
 H Huggins
 E R Jennings
 J Kesterton
 H E Kirk
 H J Langley
 S W Lawrence
 W M Mann (Miss)
 F Meggs (Miss)
 A Morgan
 N L Newcombe
 A Oldham
 H G Payne
 R H Plester
 M P Robinson (Miss)
 C Selwyn
 H E Shaw
 J A Smith
 E B Spencer
 B Tansley
 G W Thomas
 F M Thompson
 E A Turner (Miss)
 D C Whetnall
 H K D Wilkins (Miss)
 E Williams
Assistant Branch Cashiers (10)
 R E Cother (Miss)
 J L E Edwards
 A H Ellis (Miss)
 B L Hiett (Miss)
 G R Nock (Miss)
 D G Parkes (Miss)
 E A Percy (Miss)
 N K Pogson (Miss)
 A M Powell (Miss)
 G Price (Miss)
Officers-in-Charge of Evening Branches (2)
 L Hilton
 A M Lee
Evening Branch Assistant (1)
 A E Taylor
Short-hand Typists (7)
 D M Carver (Miss)
 P M Cottrell (Miss)
 I K Cowley (Miss)
 L F Lewis (Miss)
 M H McLean (Miss)
 E M Morrison (Miss)
 L R Taylor (Miss)
Other Head Office (6)
 W I Wynn  Occasional Clerk
 H V Watson  Stationery Clerk & Chauffeur
 M H Cawdell (Miss)  Filing Clerk
 L Margetts (Miss)  Comptometer Operator
 F G Kirtland  Caretaker
 E E Kirtland (Mrs)  Caretaker
General Clerks (55)
 M I Abel (Miss)
 D L Andrews (Miss)
 A Auger
 B A Barnett (Miss)
 F C Batstone
 A H Bower
 A C  Brown (Miss)
 E E Brown (Miss)
 E Bullock (Miss)
 A E Burton (Miss)
 E Chamberlain
 R D Chamberlin
 B Cooper
 H D Copeland
 L W Davies (Miss)
 D E Dee (Mrs)
 J Dempster
 L F Dobson
 B E Dunn (Miss)
 B R Endall
 L F Evans
 A Facey (Mrs)
 A W Fullbrook (Miss)
 A H F Giddings
 W G T Gray
 E M Greenwood (Miss)
 D I Gregory (Miss)
 F W E Hall
 I V Hastings (Miss)
 P I M Hilton (Miss)
 E A Howlett
 L A Instone
 W E Jackson
 E Jones (Miss)
 E Leach (Miss)
 A M Lomas (Miss)
 M W Neale (Miss)
 K F O'Malley (Miss)
 D A Otty (Miss)
 E H Owen (Miss)
 N W Ravenscroft
 M R Redman
 F A Ridge (Miss)
 G A Ridley
 R W G Rowe
 G M Searle (Miss)
 G A Snead (Miss)
 W H Stanton
 M J Taverne (Miss)
 J M Waller (Miss)
 K N White (Miss)
 H G Williams
 K R Willingham
 T A E Wilner
 J C Wright
Bournville Works Branch (7)
 F A King  Clerk-in-Charge
 N R Barnsley  General Clerk
 D Boraston  General Clerk
 R E Crofts  General Clerk
 J C Hartill  General Clerk
 W R Snowdon  General Clerk
 H A Turner  General Clerk
Cleaners, etc (14)
 E Birch (Mrs)
 A Blackburn (Mrs)
 R Brown (Mrs)
 F E Cashmore (Mrs)
 A Flood (Mrs)
 R L Hathaway (Mrs)
 A Heath (Mrs)
 A M Jones (Mrs)
 M Knight (Mrs)
 A Millership (Mrs)
 P Mills (Mrs)
 S A Turner (Mrs)
 N Wale (Mrs)
 W C Woodward (Mrs)
At December 1st 1929 the Bank had 37 Daily Branches, in addition to the Head Office branch. The title of the officer appointed to be in charge of a branch varied from time-to-time in the early years of the Bank. At this date, the title of 'Branch Manager' was reserved for an officer in charge of a branch who possessed a professional qualification. Officers in charge of a branch who were not so qualified were designated a 'Clerk-in-Charge'. On obtaining a professional qualification, a Clerk-in-Charge would receive a 25 increase in annual salary in addition to a change in title.