Staff Association
Sports &
BMB Cricket Club - 1970 to 1972
Articles from CONTACT Magazine

(Autumn 1970)


The 1970 Season proved very successful for the Bank as we finished Champions of the Corporation 'Evening League'. The summer weather was better than of late and consequently only one of our matches had to be cancelled. Of the 10 that we played we won 9 and lost one. In the Champions' Match we beat the rest of the league by 30 runs. After this match the Cup was presented to Ron Moll by Dennis Cook, the Chairman of the League.

In the six-a-side competition we were defeated by the Public Works Department.

We began the H J Moss Knockout Competition very well by beating both Walsall and Leicester TSBs, to reach the semi-final against East Anglia TSB at Cambridge. This match was played in very fine weather and, batting first, we scored 146-9 off 40 overs, thanks mainly to a very good innings of 82 not out by Ron Moll. East Anglia TSB batted very sensibly, scoring 128 for the first wicket off 30 overs. They won by 6 wickets but were defeated by Hull TSB at Trent Bridge on 6th September 1970.

The Batting Prize was won by Ray Lovell who scored 221 runs at an average of 31?6. The Bowling Prize was won by Clive Brown who took 30 wickets in the League, an average of 7?1. In all matches for the Bank this season Clive has taken 53 wickets, which is a very fine feat.

The F W Parsonage Prize and the Frank Kirtland Cup have not yet been awarded.

Our thanks are due once again to Miss Spencer for her prompt attention given to all circulars.

R A Bunten



(Autumn 1971)


The 1971 season proved to be rather an anti-climax after winning the league last year. Most teams in the league found it very difficult to maintain strong teams and for the first time the Bank had to postpone a match because players were unavailable. Treasurer's Dept and Health Dept both dropped out this season, leaving ten teams in the league. We played nine, winning five and losing four.

In the six-a-side competition we had a bye in the first round but were beaten rather easily by Rates Dept in the second.

In the H J Moss Knock-out competition we defeated Coventry TSB in the first round at Coventry. In this match John Mace became the first Bank batsman ever to score a century. He was finally dismissed for 144. This was the major portion of the 241 runs that the Bank amassed and was far too many for Coventry who could only score a total of 50. We were defeated by Leicester in the second round. They scored 115 but in reply we could only total 59. This was a complete reversal of last year's match and Leicestershire now meet Nottingham in the final at Trent Bridge.

The batting prize has been won by Philip Willetts who scored 170 runs at an average of 28?3, followed by Clive Mace and Michael Reed.

The bowling prize has also been won by Philip Willetts who took 17 wickets at an average of 10?96, followed by Alf Young and Ron Moll.

The thanks of the Club are due to Mrs L Moll for acting as scorer, to Miss Spencer and HO Secretarial Staff for their help with the administration work and to the President and the Vice Presidents for their continued support.

R A Bunten

Hon Secretary.



(Christmas 1972)


The 1972 Season did not prove as successful as was first hoped.

Three new members were welcomed, Bob Milne, Ken Allen and Rob Wilden.

The league matches went well for the first six weeks with five wins and one cancelled due to the weather. The team then found stiffer opposition in the seventh fixture, their opponents being Public Works Department (PWD). Set to score 140 runs in 24 overs for victory, the BMB failed by 2 runs. PWD were the only side who defeated the Bank team in the league. BMB finished second in the final league table, a mere 9 points behind the PWD.

In the six-a-side competition, the Bank team received a bye in the first round and in the second round the Bank team was drawn against their old rivals PWD again. The opposition proved to be the BMB's 'bogey' side, winning the match with just two balls left to be bowled.

In the H J Moss Knockout Cup, the Bank Team defeated Leicester and Derby in the first two rounds only to be beaten in the quarter-final by Newcastle, the eventual winners.

Congratulations go to Clive Mace for winning the best batsman award and to Ken Allen for winning the bowling prize.

The F W Parsonage Prize was awarded to Ken Allen as the most promising youngster.

The Frank Kirtland Cup was awarded to Phillip Willetts for the second successive year. This cup is awarded for all round performances and was fully deserved.

Let us hope that the 1973 Season will prove more rewarding for the team.

M D Reed



NOTE: the team that defeated Leicester in the TSB H J Moss Knockout Cup in 1972 is shown at Image-025